Tags

, , , , ,

The wind is blowing and rain is pouring down. All I want to do is crawl back into bed and sleep the day away. But… I don’t. I keep moving forward with my morning routine, get ready for work and get out the door.

The drive to work is uneventful and when making my last turn toward the office, I see lots of blue lights in the street. I enter the compound from a different entrance because the one I normally use is blocked with cop cars and utility vehicles. I scan into the building and notice it’s kinda dark. That’s ok. A better way to ease into the day.

All the way to my desk, I take note that it’s still dark, even in the middle of the building, and people are milling around. At my desk, there’s no familiar whir of a computer fan. No power. It’s delightfully quiet.

Headphones in, savoring the peace and the relaxing morning. I’m forced to do nothing, but listen to music and rest. This is the best holiday gift. Ever.

I leave you this fine morning with my homage to the nap I will be enjoying as soon as they officially decide to close the building & send us home.

   
 

