Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I know I’ve talked ad nauseum about the roller coaster of the past year and a half. I’m almost tired of hearing myself talk about it. But the more I get this detritus out of my head the more I heal and the healthier I am.

The past three weeks I have felt better than I have in the last two years. No doubt about it! I am so happy to be getting back to ME!

One of the things I have missed the most is being able to cook. I’m not a great lefty. Coe would disagree because I’ve gotten pretty good at the left handed frisbee and ball toss. I even learned how to use chopsticks with my left hand! What I couldn’t get down was whisking; all I managed to do was make a mess and send food flying.

Almost every weeknight for the past three weeks I’ve been cooking dinner and playing in the kitchen. That process alone has fed my spirit.

I’ve written before about how much I love bowls… Noodle bowls, rice bowls, burrito bowls… What is better than a dinner in one dish? (That’s rhetorical)

IMG_5636

Last night’s noodle bowl was almost a work of art and I have to share. As I’ve also mentioned before, I’m not big on measuring, but some things I actually did portion portion out.

1 serving (56g) whole wheat noodles
1 serving (4 ounces) 99% fat free ground turkey
Onion, chopped
Cauliflower, broken into small florets
Cabbage, shredded
1 serving pasta sauce
1 ounce grated Parmesan
Fresh basil

In the move, I discovered the joy of a true non-stick skillet, so I did not use any oil in making this dish.

While you are assembling the veggies in your skillet, boil and cook your pasta, so everything comes together at the same time.

Heat your skillet to medium heat, when hot, toss in onions and cauliflower. Let cauliflower roast a few minutes and onions get soft, then put the lid on to cook cauliflower. Check and stir a few times. After about five or so minutes, add ground turkey and desired spices.

Last night’s bowl had Tony Chachere, garlic powder, and pasta sprinkles, but I’ve regularly added celery seed, Herbes de Provence, and red chile flakes.

Stir a few times, and as the ground turkey is almost done, add a very generous handful of shredded cabbage. Give a toss and put the lid on for a couple of minutes.

At this time your pasta should be done. I usually scoop it out with a small strainer or spider. Toss pasta into your skillet, add pasta sauce, and mix together. Add a little pasta water to the skillet to make it a little saucier if you want.

Serve up and top with parmesan and fresh basil. This whole dish (per the Loseit app) was only 515 calories.


image

Enjoy!

