Tags

, , , , ,

I woke up this morning at 2am. I do that every night actually. I wake up thinking about a tv show, a book, a recipe, or any random crap my brain deems I need to be reminded of. This morning I woke up thinking I bought walnuts for a recipe but never used them. Which recipe did I forget to add walnuts to?

I had friends over for cocktails and made a few yummy finger foods.  I really wanted to pair my freshly made bacon with blue cheese.  I found this blue cheese bacon dip recipe at Baked Bree.

Of course I made a few changes, some I’ve already admitted, unwittingly.

7 bacon slices, cooked and minced (I use my thick-cut applewood smoked bacon)
a sprinkling of powdered garlic
1 package cream cheese, softened
1/3(ish) cup half and half
1/2(ish) cup blue cheese crumbles
1/3 cup toasted chopped walnuts (accidently omitted, will add next time)

With a hand mixer (because I don’t have a kitchenaid), I mixed cream cheese and half and half until smooth. add blue cheese and bacon mixing or stirring until well combined.

Instead of serving this as a dip, I made baked wonton cups that I filled with my blue cheese bacon yumminess.  Place a wonton wrappers in a mini muffin tin and bake at 350* for 7-9 minutes or until lightly golden.  These aren’t a tasty as a phyllo cup, but crazy easy!

Dig in and enjoy!

