Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I think by now you know I have a special affinity for my pizza.  I’m always looking for new toppings and trying out various flour mixes.

Today’s was a bit of a kitchen sink experiment.  With my baking bender of late, I’ve accumulated a few flours that needed to be finished off.

Today’s recipe was, as with recipes past, a twist on the Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day.
1 1/2 cup warm water
1 teaspoon sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
wait 5 minutes…
1 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup dark rye flour
1/2 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup rice flour

I started this in the morning before I left for work, then when I got home I rolled it into a ball and let it rest for about 30- 45 minutes while I prepped my toppings.  As I’ve mentioned before, the resting period can be shorter if you have less time or it can be longer.  This recipe is quite flexible and forgiving.

I squished it out into a roundish shape and tossed it on my preheated 450* degree grill.  At the 3 minute(ish) mark poke the dough and give it another minute or two.  Flip and top with whatever’s yummy.

Tonight’s toppings were Trader Joe’s Roasted Red Pepper Spread, roasted chicken, sauteed onions, cambozola and mozzarella. this was quite tasty.

And to accompany this cheesy goodness I threw together a nice little cocktail I’m calling An Autumn Walk. Kristin and I went on a quick 3 mile walk around the reservoir this afternoon and I thought this drink was a liquid representation.  Brisk and spicy.

An Autumn Walk
1 1/2 ounces New Deal Ginger Liqueur
1 ounce Portland 88 Vodka
3.5-4 ounces Pellegrino Aranciata
squeeze of fresh lemon

Cheers!

