Tags

,

This is where I’m supposed to wow you with my first of many recipes and crafty ideas.  What should I write about first?  Well, truth be told my first blog posts are really over at Kristin’s blog while she’s on the mend.  So, I have her to thank for giving me the shove I needed to take this leap.

I’m out of flour and I really want to make biscuits.  Instead I settled on a bowl of raisin bran for breakfast, which my waistline would say is the better choice.  For you though, I will regale you tales of biscuits gone by.

For the past 2 months, I have been baking biscuit recipe after biscuit recipe.  Since we don’t have Mary B’s biscuits in Portland (which big brother swears are the greatest) I’ve had to be the master of my own biscuit.  I’ve settled on Cook’s Illustrated Mile High Biscuit.  Fluffy and flavorful.  Buttery and beautiful.  yum in a bun.

shaped and ready for the hot house

I skip a few steps, modify a few others, but overall follow their recipe.  Instead of chopping the butter into cubes, I grate frozen butter and blend in with my pastry cutter instead of their suggested food processor.

hot out of the oven

This was an easy recipe and if you don’t have Mary B’s in a freezer near you I highly recommend you give this a try.

ready for me to dive on in!

If I haven’t bored you silly and you want to stop by again, I’ll be here for awhile.

